Norm

The norm is something that I unwillingly lost track a while back.  Its absence I have come to expect, yet it’s still something I yearn to have.  Life isn’t easy and when that one thing you are accustomed to disappears the ugly, scary, unpredictable reality becomes overwhelming.  You get tested.

We often call trials or hardships “seasons” in our lives.  Those types of seasons that you like to run from but they become memories that we seemingly can’t forget.

Personally I have been in a “season” that just won’t go away, like a bad winter in Wisconsin that continues creeping back for months, skipping spring, and leaving this idea of a hot sunny summer as a distant fantasy. There have definitely been more bad days than good it would appear, and every time I think that I see a glimpse of hope it gets crushed by something else. By no means am I ungrateful for the blessing that God has put in my life as that’s where I find my strength.  However, I am human and I struggle.

Throughout my days of processing I’ve noticed that although we lack control in many aspects of our lives, there are things that we have complete control over.  Despite day after day of bad news and uncontrollable tears, I’ve learned to smack on a smile and keep pushing on.  Why?  Because I’m hopeful… Not saying it’s easy… but I feel like in some weird, frustrating, unorganized fashion God is at work.  

It’s in His word… which is the glue that holds me together… He reminds us of the following:

24 We are saved by trusting. And trusting means looking forward to getting something we don’t yet have—for a man who already has something doesn’t need to hope and trust that he will get it. 25 But if we must keep trusting God for something that hasn’t happened yet, it teaches us to wait patiently and confidently.    -Romans 8 (TLB)

mountain-hope

 

I’ll never forget about a month ago falling to pieces at church after an amazing sermon and running so quickly without hesitation to the front for prayer.  I remember searching for a familiar face yet landing myself right in front of someone that knew nothing about me.  While feeling completely broken and lost, I recall my thoughts all over the place and having difficulty expressing my pain.  I continued to how I had been surviving by the notion that God won’t ever give me more than I can handle, but it had been too much at that point and I was crumbling… It was THERE, after actively listening he stops me saying something I will never forget.  He said that’s not true.  The idea that God won’t give you more than you can handle has you misled as it puts you in control and that’s not His intention.  The real thing you need to remember is that God will not give you more than YOU & HIM can handle TOGETHER because He is on your team and will NEVER leave you alone to get through life.

I know, right?! Wow. Feel free to soak that in for a moment!

When trials creep up, how often to do we go right to feeling so alone?  I sure do.  I am often surrounded by the most amazing support system yet feel like I am trying to climb out of a deep dark hole on my own.  It definitely involves a constant effort on my part to resist that vicious ugly cycle and default to hope and perseverance instead.

In all, the idea of finding a norm makes us look disillusioned thinking that somehow our messy flourless lives can fit into a cookie cutter mold and not show its imperfections.  We might as well be strapped to a treadmill indefinitely because that life we seek is unattainable when we are surrounded by unpredictable circumstances. The harsh reality is that things change.  Every circumstance involves so many factors that realistically fall beyond our control.  We need to stop playing God, allow Him to join our team, listen to his promises, control our thoughts and stray from presumed entitlements in order to stop setting ourselves up for disappointment.  That is how you thrive regardless the length or depth of your “season”!

Life is a journey, not easy, full of adversity and failure, but rewarding if you chose to find victory versus become a victim of circumstance.  Only then will you see its beauty, embrace its imperfections and find peace in this not so perfect life.  

Thank you Journey Church for keeping it real!

Please like or share if you have been encouraged.  xoxo Cara

Leave a Reply

