Truth

Truth is a concept that tends to be easy to accept when things are going well, yet when things are bad it becomes nearly impossible.  I am sure that everyone has those moments.  I sure do.

I talked in my previous post about my struggle with acceptance versus rejection.  I had an episode this week when I almost allowed those insecurities to creep back in until the point where I almost believed the lies.  My unacceptable truth is that no matter what I do, it will never be enough in my given situation.  It just won’t.  The thought of that is overwhelming.  If I do the right thing, it isn’t good enough.  It I stick up for myself, then I am a “terrible person.” So what do I have to do regardless of my feelings in order to offer the best case scenario for survival?  Roll out the red carpet and let them walk all over me.  Ok, maybe that is a little over the top, but seriously… it sure feels that way.

Using this blog as my late night therapy session, I am telling you as I remind myself that your character is defined by what you don’t do when you have the free will to do so much… leaving things alone when you want quick fixes.  It doesn’t just shape your character, but it also shapes your destiny.  By refusing to act on impulse, it drives you to trust in something bigger than yourself.  You are realizing that once again you can’t control what can’t be controlled.  However, you can count on the natural consequences taking over in due time if you can just let it go and walk away; and that my dear will be even more powerful than anything you can accomplish on your own.

In the beginning of my rough patch, my mother had typed up a list of some of her favorite quotes and scriptures for me to keep on my desk at work. There were weeks when instead of “working” because I just couldn’t clear my head, I sat and read them over and over and over … well I think you get the point.  One of the shortest yet most powerful ones was, “Let go and let God” which leads right into the the next, “Be still and know that I am God.”7904c9265d338002c94353a712872934

Not going to lie, but I can’t help but chuckle a bit as I finish up typing those phrases. While I have been able to maintain those lessons on numerous occasions, just this week I responded yet again when I KNEW that I shouldn’t have.  It is that whole idea that we have to stick up for ourselves when people try to tear us apart.  Then you think about it, Why is that?  Does it change anything? …NO.  If anything it probably proves them right or gives them the reaction that they were hoping to get from you.  Lesson learned and the TRUTH is that one can become a stronger person and can accomplish so much more if you can just LEAVE IT ALONE!  Trust me, I know.

I know because on the days when I am strong enough to conquer the task it feels amazing!  I know because others around me see it and acknowledge it.  I know because the times I thought that I was sticking up for myself ended up making me feel more like a failure.  I know because as much as you want them to care, they DON’T CARE!  They just don’t and they won’t.  And that my friend is the hardest part to stomach because you can’t change it.  Even though I am not perfect in my responses, at least I can recognize the problem. We all need to start somewhere.

15b “Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s…17 You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the Lord will give you… Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the Lord will be with you.” – 2 Chronicles 20:15b & 17

Don’t fall victim to deceit and lies. Truth will only be found when you can recognize the facts and not react with emotions. Be the bigger person, leave it alone and walk away! The battle is not yours. No matter how hard it is to let go, it will be worth it every time and I promise you that!  Lysa Terkeurst said it best at our Shine Conference, “When alarmed, resolve by taking a step back and look to God.”  If he is for us, then who can be against us?

Click here to listen for even more TRUTHS.  Even though it may not be your “style”, you won’t regret hearing it.  Enjoy and until next time be strong!

xoxo Cara

Leave a Reply

